10 Different Types Of Lions

types of lions

Types of Lions – Lions are a large pet cat species coming from the Felidae Family, and are extensively categorized as either African or Asian lions. Environment What Different Types Of Lions Are There? Lions are a huge cat types belonging to the Felidae Family, as well as are extensively.

1. Lions Endangered

All the sorts of lions discussed above are intimidated to variable levels. Hunting, particularly unregulated prize hunting practices are in charge of the decrease of the African subspecies of lions.

During prize hunting (a method where lions are hunted, as well as their body parts like the head are provided as a prize to the hunter) the leading male lion of the pride is usually targeted for searching considering that it is the largest and also most valuable prize to the seekers.

The fatality of the dominant male disrupts the framework of the pride. Males from outdoors now get into the pride and exterminate the progeny of former males.

Therefore, lion cubs are shed, and this creates a lion populace decline. Besides hunting, environment loss and environment fragmentation likewise threaten the survival of all sorts of lions of the globe. Sadly, the dangers continue to exist in spite of the execution of large preservation efforts.

There is a higher should create recognition concerning the should save the lions among the general public of the nations lived in by the lions in order to save this big feline species.

2. Asiatic Lion

The Asiatic lion or the Indian lion (Panthera leo persica) though when widespread from Turkey across Southwest Asia to the Indian subcontinent, is currently constrained to the Gir National forest and Wildlife Refuge in the Indian state of Gujarat. Just regarding 523 of this type of lion continue to be in this forest.

The Asiatic lion is smaller sized than the largest of the African lions yet is similar in dimension to the Main African lion. The weight of adult male Asiatic lions ranges between 160 kg as well as 190 kg while that of ladies varies from 110 kg to 120 kg.

A longitudinal fold of skin leaving the tummy is the striking morphological attribute that assists in the recognition of the Asiatic lion. The fur shade of the Asiatic lion ranges from ruddy-tawny, buffish-gray or sandy to greatly speckled with black.

The lions have a modest hair growth unlike the African subspecies, and their ears are constantly noticeable. The Asiatic lions additionally show less hereditary variant compared to the African subspecies. These lions are identified as threatened by the IUCN.

3. Ethiopian Lion


The Ethiopian lion or the Abyssinian lion or the Addis Ababa lion (Panthera leo roosevelti) is a type of lion that though initially thought about to be the Eastern African lion was categorized as a different subspecies after phenotypic and also genotypic evaluation on lions kept in bondage in the Addis Ababa’s zoo.

Ethiopian lions have darker manes as well as smaller sized bodies as compared to various other lion subspecies, yet this could likewise be the result of living in captivity.

4. Transvaal Lion

The Southeast African lion (Panthera leo krugeri), additionally known as the Kalahari lion or the Transvaal lion is found in the southerly parts of Africa with considerable populations in South Africa’s Kruger National forest and Swaziland’s Hlane Royal National Park.

The majority of the males of this subspecies have a black, strong mane. The size of men varies in between 8.5 feet and 10.5 feet while women obtain a length between 7.7 feet as well as 9.0 feet. Male Kalahari lions have a weight of about 150– 250 kg while females are 110– 182 kg in weight.

5. Masai Lion


The East African lion or the Masai lion (Panthera leo nubica) is located in East Africa where it happens in the nations of Kenya, Ethiopia, Mozambique, and also Tanzania. The Masai lions have much less bent backs and longer legs compared to other subspecies of lion.

Modest tufts of hair exist in the knee joints of men. The hairs of the Masai lion seem combed in reverse, and also older males have fuller manes compared to the younger ones. Male Masai lions residing in highlands above 2,600 feet, and also have much heavier manes than those staying in the lowland locations.

Male Masai lions obtain a length in between 8.2 feet and 9.8 feet. Lionesses are smaller sized with length varying from 7.5 feet to 8.5 feet.

6. Southwest African Lion

The Katanga lion or the Southwest African lion (Panthera leo bleyenberghi) is found in southwestern Africa in the nations of Angola, Zaire, western Zambia and also Zimbabwe, Namibia, as well as northern Botswana.

These lions are among the largest amongst the all the types of lions. Males obtain lengths between 8.2 feet and also 10.2 feet while ladies have a length between 7.5 feet and 8.7 feet.

Males weigh around 140– 242 kg while women weigh concerning 105– 170 kg. The Katanga lions have a lighter tinted hairs compared to other lion subspecies.

7. Congo Lion


The Congo lion (Panthera leo azandica) or the Uganda lion is a kind of lion subspecies that is found in the Autonomous Republic of Congo (DRC) as well as components of western Uganda.

The subspecies is presently extinct in Rwanda where it as soon as existed. The lions are protected in the Virunga National Park of DRC and also Uganda’s Queen Elizabeth National Park.

8. West African Lion


The seriously threatened West African lion or the Senegal lion (Panthera leo senegalensis) populates western Africa from the Main African Republic to Senegal.

The West African lion is the tiniest among the sub-Saharan African lions. Only concerning 1,800 people remain as tiny and fragmented populations in West Africa.

9. Barbary Lion

The barbary lions (Panthera leo leo) is additionally referred to as the North African lion. This lion subspecies previously happened in Egypt, Tunisia, Morocco, as well as Algeria. Currently, it is vanished in the wild because of indiscriminate searching.

The last known wild Barbary lion was killed in 1920 in Morocco. Today, some lions maintained in captivity are believed to be descendants of the wild Barbary lions, especially those living in the Rabat Zoo.

The Barbary lion is among the biggest subspecies of lion and individuals with lengths varying in between 9.8 feet and 10.8 feet, and weights of over 200 kg have actually been previously reported.

10. Lions Of The World

The lion is a big pet cat coming from the Panthera genus as well as family Felidae. Both main sorts of lions are African lions and also Eastern lions. The former is a group of 7 extant lion subspecies occupying the African continent while the latter is a solitary subspecies of lion living in Asia.

The lion is the 2nd biggest cat types after the tiger. Presently, wild lions are discovered in huge components of sub-Saharan Africa and India. Oddly, unlike various other pet cat species, lions are highly social in nature and also stay in huge groups called pride consisting of numerous women, their spawns, and also a few men.

Lions have the tendency to like savanna and meadow habitats yet are additionally discovered in forests as well as bush. Lions are experienced predators and scavengers and also mostly nocturnal naturally. Wild lions survive for around 10 to 14 years while restricted ones endure as long as Two Decade.

Types of Lions

Lion Species Spotlight